first of all some options are only editable on a windows pc or mac and then some require an internet connection in order to change the settings
second unlike other wireless sd cards the eyefi card's wireless transmitter is only switched on when it has something to send, this is to conserve battery consumption in the camera. so once it has completed its last upload, if you haven't taken any thing else it will shut down its wireless connection until you take more photos. the renaming thing is an ios only problem i do believe, but i can't say for certain as i don't use apple products, but i'm sure they looked at this problem in one of the last updates you can store your photo's outside the camera roll in an eyefi only area of the ipad and it won't rename the files but your photos won't be available to other ios apps. its not eyefi that is renaming the files ios renames them when they get added to the ios camera roll.
Find me on Flickrhttp://www.flickr.com/photos/75848520@N08/
2* Eyefi 16GB Pro x2, 2* Eyefi 4GB Connect x2, 16gb & 32gb Mobi
Canon 500D Canon 350D
EF 17-40 f4L, EF 70-200 f4L
Sony Experia Arc, Blackberry Playbook 64GB, iPhone 5c, Windows8.1 Tablet PC