Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Discussion related to cameras used with your Eye-Fi Card

Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby cbf on Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:55 am

I just bought an Olympus XZ-1, foolishly without first checking for Eye-Fi compatibility. It's listed as not being Eye-Fi compatible, and I can confirm that's the case. My X2 card works as an expensive SD card, but that's about it.

Before I return the camera, does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue might be? I'm a little surprised that Eye-Fi doesn't work on so new a camera, and I'm wondering if Olympus did this deliberately.
cbf
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby scubie on Mon May 09, 2011 12:46 am

I am using direct mode in my XZ-1 without any problem as well as my olympus E-5.
I had been using in the E-5 and a Zalip router untill the update to direct mode.Spent two days trying to get direct mode working
without sucsess, I then gave up, and when returned to camera later, it was working!!! trouble is I have no idea why :? :?
I had installed the ios app to download to, but couldn't get that to work at all, then deleted it and reverted to Shutter Snitch, now working ok.
One thing that confused me was that my ipad didn't recognize the wifi network untill the camera was turned on, from then on plain sailing.
One thing I forgot to mention, card must have few pics on it before it will start, suggest you format the card in camera then take a few pics
before trying again.

Wish you all luck, think needs lot of patience!!! :oops:
Regards
Doug
scubie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:27 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby danb on Tue May 10, 2011 12:01 pm

cbf wrote:I just bought an Olympus XZ-1, foolishly without first checking for Eye-Fi compatibility. It's listed as not being Eye-Fi compatible, and I can confirm that's the case. My X2 card works as an expensive SD card, but that's about it.

Before I return the camera, does anyone have any ideas as to what the issue might be? I'm a little surprised that Eye-Fi doesn't work on so new a camera, and I'm wondering if Olympus did this deliberately.


Olympus did not do anything deliberately. In fact, after speaking with an Olympus rep, they were concerned about the issue as well. Our engineering team has been looking into the issue and we hope to provide a solution to the compatibly problems in a future update. The timing of that update, or whether it will actual transpire, however, are not certain.
Need help? Contact us directly: http://support.eye.fi/contact-support
User avatar
danb
Eye-Fi'er
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby scubie on Thu May 12, 2011 9:11 am

I don't see the problem, the card works fine with the olympus xz-1, I don't have problem with it once set up correctly
scubie
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 4:27 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby danb on Thu May 12, 2011 9:43 am

The XZ-1 will occasionally report a memory card error when using an Eye-Fi X2 card. Engineering at Eye-Fi have found the problem and are working on a solution for it.
Need help? Contact us directly: http://support.eye.fi/contact-support
User avatar
danb
Eye-Fi'er
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby glennglenn on Fri May 13, 2011 7:40 am

No problems getting X2 Pro to work flawless with my XZ-1. No support to keep it powered on while uploading though.
glennglenn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 13, 2011 5:27 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby danb on Fri May 13, 2011 10:01 am

Looks like the best you can do with the XZ-1 is set it to sleep after 5 minutes. The camera doesn't have an option to turn off the sleep timer, so 5 minutes is the max it will allow.

Hit the "Menu" button --> scroll to the Setup Menu (the icon looks like a wrench) -- > Scroll down to "Sleep" --> Change it to 5 minutes

That will at least help you along, better than the default 2 minutes.
Need help? Contact us directly: http://support.eye.fi/contact-support
User avatar
danb
Eye-Fi'er
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby cbf on Mon May 16, 2011 5:35 pm

Thanks for the information. I guess I'll take my card back to the camera store (fortunately, it's a local family-owned shop) and test it in the XZ-1 again. Olympus support had suggested reformatting the card in their camera. I might try that, but I didn't have time to back my card up and do that last time.

And yes, it would be better if the Olympus had a wait-for-upload feature. But 5 at least minute sleep time is better than the max of two minutes on my Panasonic G2. If Canon had a camera to compare to the XZ-1 or Panasonic LX5, I'd get it just for the Eye-Fi support. (The S95 has too many compromises.)
cbf
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:52 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby danb on Mon May 16, 2011 8:19 pm

cbf wrote:And yes, it would be better if the Olympus had a wait-for-upload feature. But 5 at least minute sleep time is better than the max of two minutes on my Panasonic G2. If Canon had a camera to compare to the XZ-1 or Panasonic LX5, I'd get it just for the Eye-Fi support. (The S95 has too many compromises.)


Eye-Fi connect cameras wait until uploads are complete before powering down. The Canon S95 is Eye-Fi connected, so that is one benefit. I believe the Panasonic LX5 can be set to never power off.

Here are the Eye-Fi connected cameras to date: http://www.eye.fi/how-it-works/camera-c ... postTabs=1

Also, if you are thinking about getting a new camera, a website I really like using is snapsort. Here are some links for you:

http://snapsort.com/compare/Olympus-XZ- ... ix_DMC-LX5
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_Power ... ix_DMC-LX5
http://snapsort.com/compare/Canon_Power ... ympus-XZ-1
Need help? Contact us directly: http://support.eye.fi/contact-support
User avatar
danb
Eye-Fi'er
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby quagga on Thu May 19, 2011 6:55 am

danb wrote:The XZ-1 will occasionally report a memory card error when using an Eye-Fi X2 card. Engineering at Eye-Fi have found the problem and are working on a solution for it.


Well, my XZ-1 and Eye-Fi X2 Pro are coming today and I'm excited to start shooting. From what I read it looks like the problem with the card is intermittent. Is there a time-frame for when this solution is implemented? Just so I know to plug in and update my Eye-Fi card.
quagga
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 19, 2011 6:40 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby gomcse2002 on Mon May 23, 2011 3:19 pm

Hi there

I just got my XZ-1 today and may I know which model of Eye Wi cards are worked out well with your XZ-1 DC ?

Please kindly advise ASAP.
gomcse2002
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 3:17 pm

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby gomcse2002 on Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:28 am

Git a 4Gb Eye Fi card and I have no problem to transfer pictures automatically from my XZ-1 to my computer so far. Love this feature.
gomcse2002
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 23, 2011 3:17 pm

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby NeilP on Tue Jun 25, 2013 11:32 pm

Anyone tried the cards with the XZ-2?

I ahve an 8gb Pro x 2 card and on initial try it does not work.

But I am not sure what to do to transfer cards

The card works previously in my Canon 5D

Re formatted the card in the Olympus

Eye Fi is turned on in the settings.

Card set to upload protected (sleective upload.)

Take a pic, with the app running on iPhone

Protect the image.

check the phone..nothing

Direct mode not connecting..
The EyeFi card local direct mode network does not appear in the iPhone network manager

No files get transfered
NeilP
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:34 am

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby danb on Wed Jun 26, 2013 8:14 am

NeilP,

I will order a XZ-2 for the office and test it out. Other than that we have not heard anything from any other customer yet.
Need help? Contact us directly: http://support.eye.fi/contact-support
User avatar
danb
Eye-Fi'er
 
Posts: 599
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2010 10:17 am
Location: Mountain View, CA

Re: Olympus XZ-1 - no go!

Postby NeilP on Wed Jun 26, 2013 1:41 pm

I tried a few times, away from home and other networks..It tried to connect a few times, the con in the camera flashed, but nothing ever got transferred.


Tried again this evenin g at home.

It worked instantly when the home network was in range..so i guess it uses the home net without going in to Direct Mode?

Will try DM tomorrow again
NeilP
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2012 11:34 am


Return to Name your Camera

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests